Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

9:14 a.m. - 2011-04-18
onehundredfiftysix
when i was flatting we had a flat cat. her name was miss mary winks. one day i was in my room and heard a fluttering sound by my wardrobe. after some investigation i saw it was a small sparrow that winks must have bought in. she didn't seem too damaged; no blood, maybe pretty dazed. but kind of holding one wing out from her body.

i named the sparrow edith after edith piaf. i put her in a shoebox and then walked, barefoot, on the hot footpath down to the local vet. the vet said, oh well we can't do anything here you must take her to the animal and bird hospital across town. when i got home i had blisters pretty much covering the soles of my feet.

anyway i drove the box with the sparrow in it all the way across town. i even turned the radio off and talked to it the whole way. when i peeked in the box at a set of traffic lights i am pretty sure she peered up at me. when i got to the bird hospital i explained, gave them the box, and they said they'd take care of it. then i drove all the way home.

that evening i was telling my dude. he listened to the whole story, then said: you realise they probably just took it out back and snapped its neck?

i felt sort of like a bleeding heart moron then, but i guess i am still glad i did it. just in case they didn't.

[color bars :: elliott smith]

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!