Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

8:34 p.m. - 2011-06-12
onehundredseventy
in my younger days my bro and i used to play hide-and-seek with the nighbourhood kids. we were kind of risky kids so we played indoors/outdoors hide-and-seek. it used to make our parents pretty anxious, i guess they were afraid of us getting stolen or hit by a car or cutting open our legs on garden shears if we hid in the shed. (this happened routinely.)

anyhow one day i found the best hiding place ever. i crawled into the top shelf of the hallway linen cupboard. it was nice and warm and cozy and every so often i would doze off a bit. i'd get woken back up by kids opening up the door, looking in, and slamming it shut again because they didn't look up to see me curled up above them.

this went on for about an hour or so, until one of the kids must've told my mum. then i heard her up and down the house, calling out my name. for a while i resisted this trick to get me to reveal my hiding place. but eventually i realised she was getting pretty worried, so i crept down from my spot.

mum was coming up the hallway again, yelling my name in this sort of angry, sort of scared tone. she saw me jump down from the top shelf of the linen cupboard and let out this moan so low i thought she must've been way more worried about me than i thought. i actually felt a little bad for an instant until she came up to me and said in this strangled, anxious voice: not my nice, pressed sheets!

she was right, i had mussed them up quite a bit. but i felt better that i wasn't the cause of her displeasure anymore. well, not directly.

[every me, every you :: placebo]

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!